Skip to content
Account

Cart

Recovery boots & compression

Compression boots compared: Normatec, JetBoots, Compex, Blackroll

Comparing compression boots is harder than it should be, because every brand publishes its data differently: chambers here, zones there, pressure levels with no mmHg value. If you are looking for a Normatec alternative in the UK, you end up with spec sheets that don't line up. I have collected the technical data for Hyperice Normatec, Therabody JetBoots, Compex Ayre, Blackroll and our own Revive Active straight from the manufacturers' websites, as of October 2026.

Revive Active compression boots in a football stadium

You get one table with a source for every value, a view on which specs matter in practice, and what no spec sheet can tell you.

Disclosure

Ractiveone sells Revive Active compression boots. The figures for every other model come only from that manufacturer's own website and are linked as sources. As of October 2026. Brand and product names belong to their owners.

Before you compare spec sheets, it helps to know the principle they share. Every model here uses intermittent pneumatic compression: air chambers that fill and empty in sequence. How that works in your legs is explained in the guide how compression boots work. The differences between brands are in the details, and those details matter day to day.

Which specs matter when you compare boots?

  • Chambers or zones per leg: they determine how smoothly the pressure wave travels up from the foot. Some brands count physical chambers, others talk about zones.
  • Pressure range in mmHg: the key point is that the device starts low enough and goes up in small steps. A higher maximum is not a sign of quality in itself.
  • Programmes and session times: several modes help if you use the boots for different things, say after training and in the evening to unwind.
  • Battery and controls: does it work without a socket? Is the controller a separate unit connected by hoses, or does it sit on the sleeves?
  • Sizes: the sleeves have to match your leg length, otherwise the top chamber sits in the wrong place. Almost every brand offers two or three lengths.

These points are covered in more depth in the 7 criteria to check before buying recovery boots.

Compression boots compared: the manufacturer data

As of October 2026. "Not stated" means the manufacturer does not give the value on its product page or in its manual. Where a figure is given without saying what it refers to (for example a weight without saying whether it is the pair or the control unit), we leave it out.

Model Chambers / zones per leg Pressure as published Programmes Battery / runtime Controls Source
Hyperice Normatec 3 Legs 5 zones 7 levels, 40–110 mmHg not stated (ZoneBoost feature) up to 3 hours separate control unit with hose, Bluetooth and Hyperice app hyperice.com
Hyperice Normatec Premier Legs 5 zones 7 levels, 40–110 mmHg not stated up to 4 hours no hoses or separate control unit, Bluetooth hyperice.com
Therabody JetBoots Prime 4 chambers 4 levels, 25–100 mmHg preset treatments; 20, 40, 60 min or continuous 180 minutes built-in pump, wireless therabody.co.uk
Therabody JetBoots PRO Plus 4 chambers 20–100 mmHg in 5 mmHg steps 8 programmes; 10–60 min 150–240 minutes built-in pump, wireless therabody.co.uk
Compex Ayre 4 chambers up to 120 mmHg in 10 mmHg steps 2 modes 4,500 mAh battery, runtime not stated wireless, integrated control unit compex.com
Compex Ayre Pro 4 chambers up to 150 mmHg in 10 mmHg steps 3 modes (20 or 30 min) up to 3 hours wireless compex.com
BLACKROLL Compression Boots 2.0 not stated as a number intensity levels, no mmHg value stated 3 modes up to 3.5 hours, also runs on mains power control unit on the sleeve blackroll.com
Ractiveone Revive Active 4 chambers 7 levels, 30–240 mmHg 5 modes; 15, 30, 45 min up to 180 minutes battery controller with colour display, no app ractiveone.com
Ractiveone Revive Active Pro 8 chambers, each can be switched off up to 260 mmHg 6 programmes; 10–90 min battery battery controller ractiveone.com

Therabody used to sell RecoveryAir systems with a separate pump. In October 2026 these models were no longer listed in Therabody's UK and European stores, so they are not in the table.

The models at a glance

Hyperice Normatec 3 and Normatec Premier

Normatec is one of the best-known names in air compression for sport. Hyperice lists 5 zones and 7 pressure levels between 40 and 110 mmHg for both models. On the Normatec 3, the controls sit in a separate unit connected to the sleeves by a hose. The Premier does without hoses and a separate control unit and, according to Hyperice, runs for up to 4 hours. Both connect via Bluetooth; for the Normatec 3, Hyperice names its own app.

Therabody RecoveryAir JetBoots Prime and PRO Plus

On the JetBoots, Therabody has built the pump into the sleeves. According to Therabody, both have 4 overlapping chambers. The Prime works with 4 levels from 25 to 100 mmHg, the PRO Plus from 20 to 100 mmHg in 5 mmHg steps with 8 preset programmes. Both also have infrared LEDs and a vibration function.

Compex Ayre and Ayre Pro

Compex is best known for electrical muscle stimulation. According to Compex, the Ayre boots have 4 chambers and an integrated control unit. The Ayre goes up to 120 mmHg with 2 modes, the Ayre Pro up to 150 mmHg with 3 modes. The manual says pressure adjusts in 10 mmHg steps.

BLACKROLL Compression Boots 2.0

Many people know Blackroll from foam rollers. For the Compression Boots 2.0, Blackroll lists 3 modes, a control unit on the sleeve, a battery with up to 3.5 hours of runtime and the option to run the device on mains power. On its own website, Blackroll does not give a pressure range in mmHg or a chamber count as a number (as of October 2026). If you need those figures, ask the manufacturer directly.

Ractiveone Revive Active and Revive Active Pro

The Revive Active compression boots have 4 chambers per leg, 7 pressure levels from 30 to 240 mmHg, 5 modes (wave, sequential, double wave, all chambers at once, sequential plus double wave) and programmes of 15, 30 or 45 minutes. The controller with its 3,200 mAh battery runs for up to 180 minutes. The Pro version has 8 chambers that can be switched off individually, up to 260 mmHg, 6 programmes and session times from 10 to 90 minutes.

How much do compression boots cost?

On 15 October 2026, list prices for the Hyperice, Therabody and Compex models above ranged from roughly £470 to £950 in the manufacturers' UK stores. Blackroll did not show a UK price on its website. Prices change often, including through promotions, so check the current price with the manufacturer. The price of Revive Active is shown in the product box next to this article.

What can no spec sheet tell you?

There are no independent studies comparing brands with one another. Research looks at the method, pneumatic compression itself. A 2018 study (Zuj et al.), for example, found that compressing the lower leg increases blood flow after exercise. Which pressure is best for that remains open. What the research shows overall is summarised in the benefits of compression boots according to studies.

So the questions that matter most are practical ones. Does the length fit your leg? Do you want an app or buttons on the device? Does a hose to a control unit bother you? Do you need a very low starting pressure, or do you train enough to use a wide adjustment range? If you are unsure whether boots or a massage gun suit you better, read compression boots vs massage gun.

From practice

"An extra 20 mmHg of maximum pressure is not a reason to buy. What counts is that the boots fit and that you actually use them regularly."

Which model suits which need?

If this matters to you Look for Models with this feature, as published
App and Bluetooth app control, saved programmes Normatec 3, Normatec Premier
No hoses pump or controls on the sleeve Normatec Premier, JetBoots Prime and PRO Plus, Compex Ayre
Wide pressure range stated in mmHg starting and maximum pressure in mmHg Revive Active (30–240), Revive Active Pro (up to 260)
Many programmes number of modes, flexible session times JetBoots PRO Plus (8), Revive Active Pro (6), Revive Active (5)
Mains operation power supply, charging during use BLACKROLL Compression Boots 2.0

Revive Active has no app: you set mode and pressure directly on the controller. If you like having your data on your phone, other brands offer that. How often and for how long to use compression boots is covered in are recovery boots worth it for athletes.

Who are compression boots (not) suitable for?

Suitable for

  • runners, cyclists, triathletes and football or rugby players with high leg loads
  • strength athletes after leg day
  • people who sit, stand or travel a lot for work

Not suitable, or only after medical advice

  • if you have or may have a blood clot (DVT)
  • with heart failure or peripheral arterial disease
  • with open wounds, skin infections or fresh injuries on the legs
  • during pregnancy

If you have symptoms, always get them checked by a doctor. This applies to every model in this comparison.

Conclusion

According to the manufacturers, the well-known compression boots differ mainly in pressure range, number of programmes, app support and whether the controls run through hoses or sit on the sleeve. If you want an app, look at Normatec; if you want a wide pressure range stated in mmHg without an app, Revive Active offers it. No spec sheet proves that one model aids recovery better than another, so fit, ease of use and regular use matter more than maximum pressure.

Frequently asked questions

What is a good Normatec alternative in the UK?
That depends on what matters to you. On published specs the models differ mainly in pressure range, number of programmes, whether the controls sit on the boot or on a separate unit, and app support; the table in this article puts the figures side by side.
How many chambers should compression boots have?
For a continuous pressure wave from foot to thigh, 4 to 5 chambers or zones per leg are enough. More chambers allow finer steps, but no study shows that this improves recovery.
What pressure in mmHg is sensible for compression boots?
Most people are comfortable in the low to middle range. What matters is a device that starts low enough and adjusts in small steps; the pressure should feel firm but never painful.
Do Blackroll compression boots state a pressure in mmHg?
On its own website, Blackroll lists modes and intensity levels for the Compression Boots 2.0 but no pressure range in mmHg (as of October 2026).
Are more expensive compression boots more effective?
There is no evidence for that. Studies on pneumatic compression compare methods, not brands. Price reflects features such as app, battery, materials and brand rather than proven effect.
Are the prices in this comparison up to date?
We only give a price range from the manufacturers' UK stores on 15 October 2026. Prices change often, so check them with the manufacturer before you buy.

Sources

  1. Hyperice: Normatec 3 Legs, UK product page (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
  2. Hyperice: Normatec Premier Legs, UK product page (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
  3. Therabody: JetBoots Prime, UK product page (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
  4. Therabody: JetBoots PRO Plus, UK product page (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
  5. Compex: Ayre Compression Boots, UK product page and user manual (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
  6. Compex: Ayre Pro Compression Boots, UK product page (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
  7. BLACKROLL: Compression Boots 2.0, product page (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
  8. Ractiveone: Revive Active, product page
  9. Zuj, K. A. et al. (2018). Enhanced muscle blood flow with intermittent pneumatic compression of the lower leg during plantar flexion exercise and recovery. Journal of Applied Physiology, 124(2), 302–311.

Next article

Heavy Legs: Causes, Warning Signs and Why Compression Helps